Best Portable Induction Cooktops in Australia (2026)
As an Amazon Associate, top7kitchen.au earns from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com.au at the time of purchase will apply.
Rankings re-checked weekly · Last re-checked 16 October 2026
·Prices updated daily·AI-assisted, run by Jaco Olwagen
3 quick taps — we'll match you to a pick using the same scores we rank with.
The picks, in order
7 picks
Number one at the top, number 7 at the bottom. The tier label on each card says which price bracket it sits in.
★Editor's Choice
1
Healthy Choice
Healthy Choice 2000W Induction Cooktop
2000W8 Power Levels4-Hour Timer
BudgetOn Sale
Rank #1
Healthy Choice 2000W Induction Cooktop
Our Verdict
A straightforward 2000W single-zone cooker with sensor touch controls, 8 power levels, 80 to 240 degree temperature control and a 4-hour timer.
Why it's number one: The only cooker here with an independent test: CHOICE scores it 78/100, and Amazon AU owners rate it 4.3 stars from 880 reviews, for a 2000W plate with a four-hour timer, auto shut-off and pan detection.
Healthy Choice is a familiar name on Australian benchtops, and its 2000W induction cooktop is the simple, sensible budget option. You get eight power levels running from 200W to 2000W and a temperature range of 80 to 240 degrees Celsius on a large digital display, with sensor touch controls that are easy to read and easy to wipe. The 28 x 27cm polished black crystal plate gives a bigger landing area for a wide frying pan than the ultra-slim units, and a four-hour timer with automatic shut-off means a pot of soup or stock can tick along without supervision. Overheat protection is built in, and like all induction hobs the surface doesn't heat unless a pan is sitting on it. Buyers on Amazon AU have given it 4.3 stars across 875 reviews, the second-largest review base in this guide, and it typically sits at the cheapest end of the category. If you want a no-fuss extra burner for a rental or a caravan and don't need 20-step simmer control, this is the one to grab.
Performance
8.5
Precision
7.8
Ease of Use
8.5
Build
7.8
Owners
7.4
Owners is the 4.3★ Amazon AU rating from 880 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 8.5 (rubric 8): Rated 2000 W with no boost mode: the 2000 W band; CHOICE scores it 78 overall but its boil-speed result is behind the paywall.
Precision 7.8 (rubric 7): Eight power levels from 200 W to 2000 W (CHOICE also lists 8): the 8 to 9 step band; lowest setting 200 W, no low-simmer bonus.
Ease of Use 8.5 (rubric 8): Four-hour timer with auto shut-off, sensor touch panel and eight preset modes per CHOICE's spec list; no child lock or pan range on the card.
Build 7.8 (rubric 7): Crystal glass plate with overheat protection and pan detection per the card, in a plastic body from a third-party seller with no stated warranty.
The TOKIT Razor is the precision pick. At just 20mm thick it barely registers on the bench, and the single rotary knob steps through 99 power levels, so you can nudge heat up or down by tiny increments instead of jumping between fixed settings. It runs to 2100W at the top end, but the clever part is the bottom end: a constant 100W low-power mode that TOKIT pitches for sous-vide, with a temperature sensor accurate to about 3 degrees. An OLED display and audio alarm handle overheat protection and no-pot detection, and the black crystal panel wipes clean easily. App control lets you adjust the cooker from your phone and tap into TOKIT's recipe community, though you can ignore it entirely and just use the knob. It accepts magnetic cookware from 120mm to 280mm, the widest range here. Amazon AU buyers rate it 4.3 stars across 547 reviews. It costs more than the simple touch-panel units, and there are no one-touch presets, but if you cook sauces, confits or anything that needs a steady low heat, the control is worth paying for.
Performance
9.3
Precision
10.0
Ease of Use
7.8
Build
8.1
Owners
7.4
Owners is the 4.3★ Amazon AU rating from 557 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 9.3 (rubric 9): Rated 2100 W peak: the 2100 W-plus band; no boost mode listed and no published test.
Precision 10.0 (rubric 10): 99 power levels on the rotary knob plus a constant 100 W low mode for sous vide: 9.5 plus 0.5, capped at 10.
Ease of Use 7.8 (rubric 7): Rotary knob with an OLED display, app control and a 120 to 280 mm pan range; no presets, and no timer length or child lock on the card.
Build 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Overheat protection and no-pot detection with an OLED alarm per the card, on a 20 mm body; sold by a third-party seller with no stated Australian warranty.
Pros
+ 99 power levels on a rotary knob for genuinely fine control
+ Constant 100W low-power mode suits sous-vide and gentle simmering
+ Ultra-thin 20mm body with OLED display and app control
+ Accepts cookware from 120mm to 280mm, the widest range here
Cons
− Premium price for a single-zone unit
− No one-touch cooking presets, just the knob and app
− App pairing is an extra step some buyers won't bother with
2100W99 Power Levels20mm ThinApp ControlOLED Display540+ Reviews
The Aobosi is the budget pick that punches well above its price, and it's the unit we'd hand to most people looking for a first induction cooker. Where most cheap hobs give you a handful of power steps, this one offers 20 power levels and 20 temperature settings, so you can hold a genuinely low simmer rather than cycling between too hot and off. Six touch buttons cover temperature, power, a 10-hour timer, a child lock and a booster mode that runs at the full 2000W for ten minutes before dropping back to your previous setting, which is ideal for getting a wok or a big pot of pasta water up to speed. At just 4.2cm thick and 2.2kg it's one of the lightest units here, so it packs easily for a caravan or balcony, and the rounded edges and glass-ceramic panel wipe clean once cooled. It works with magnetic cookware from 12cm to 22cm in diameter, which is a little narrower than the Tefal. Amazon AU buyers rate it 4.5 stars across 749 reviews, and for the money it's hard to beat.
Performance
8.9
Precision
8.9
Ease of Use
8.5
Build
7.4
Owners
7.7
Owners is the 4.4★ Amazon AU rating from 755 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Rated 2000 W with a 10-minute booster mode: the 2000 W band plus 0.5 for boost; no published test.
Precision 8.9 (rubric 8.5): 20 power levels and 20 temperature settings: the 20 to 49 step band; the lowest wattage is not on the card, so no low-simmer bonus.
Ease of Use 8.5 (rubric 8): Ten-hour timer, child lock and touch buttons per the card; no one-touch presets, and a 12 to 22 cm pan limit that rules out big frying pans.
Build 7.4 (rubric 6.5): Slim 2.2 kg body with a glass-ceramic panel, sold by a third-party seller with no warranty stated; pan detection and overheat protection not on the card.
Pros
+ 20 power and 20 temperature levels for fine simmer control
+ 10-hour timer, child lock and a 10-minute 2000W booster mode
+ Ultra-slim 4.2cm profile and 2.2kg weight for easy storage
+ Rated 4.5 stars by 749 Amazon AU buyers
Cons
− Maximum 22cm pan base rules out very large frying pans
− Sold by a third-party seller rather than Amazon AU directly
2000W20 Power Levels10-Hour TimerChild Lock2.2kg740+ Reviews
A compact precision cooktop with 45 temperature settings from 40°C to 250°C, shatter-proof ceramic glass and 900, 1500 and 2000W modes for caravans and generators.
Why it isn't number one: It scores higher than our number one, but only 0 published reviews of this exact model.
The Nuwave Flex is the pick for people who want temperature control rather than just power levels. Instead of a handful of steps it offers 45 temperature settings: six presets, or your own figure anywhere from 40°C to 250°C in 5° increments, and both the temperature and the cooking time can be changed mid-cook without starting over. That covers holding a delicate sauce warm at the bottom end and searing a steak at the top. The cooking surface is heavy-duty shatter-proof ceramic glass on a slim body that sits the coil close to the pan. For Australian buyers the useful extra is the three wattage settings of 900, 1500 and 2000W, which let it run from a 1kVA generator or a 1000W inverter, so it suits caravans, cabins and campsites where a full 10A supply is not guaranteed. It is built for Australian 220-240V power, ships from Amazon AU stock (sold by Newstyle Direct), and Amazon AU buyers rate it 4.4 stars from 53 reviews. The heating coil is 16.5cm, so it is happiest with small and medium pans, and the listing does not state a timer limit or pan detection, which costs it points on ease of use and build. It replaces the larger Nuwave Precision Gold, which Amazon AU no longer stocks.
Performance
8.5
Precision
9.3
Ease of Use
7.8
Build
8.1
Owners
7.6
Owners is the 4.4★ Amazon AU rating from 53 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 8.5 (rubric 8): Rated 2000 W at its top wattage mode with no boost mode: the 2000 W band; no published boil test.
Precision 9.3 (rubric 9): 45 temperature settings from 40 C to 250 C in 5 C steps: the 20 to 49 band (8.5) plus 0.5 for a lowest setting under 50 C.
Ease of Use 7.8 (rubric 7): Six presets with on-the-fly changes to temperature and cooking time; no timer limit or pan range stated, and a small 16.5 cm coil.
Build 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Shatter-proof ceramic glass built for 220 to 240 V; pan detection and overheat protection are not stated, and it is sold by a third-party seller.
Pros
+ 45 temperature settings from 40°C to 250°C in 5° steps, adjustable mid-cook
+ Three wattage modes (900, 1500 and 2000W) run from a 1kVA generator or 1000W inverter
+ Shatter-proof ceramic glass on a slim, light 2.3kg body
+ Ships from Amazon AU stock and is built for Australian 220-240V power
Cons
− A 16.5cm heating coil suits small and medium pans better than large ones
− Sold by a third-party seller (Newstyle Direct) rather than Amazon AU directly
− No timer limit or pan detection stated on the listing
Breville the Quick Cook Dual Zone Induction Cooker LIC700
Two Zones16 Power LevelsChild Lock
PremiumOn Sale
Rank #5
Breville the Quick Cook Dual Zone Induction Cooker LIC700
Our Verdict
Breville's two-zone induction cooker with 16 power levels per zone, a child lock and side-mounted controls away from the steam, for two pans at once from Amazon AU stock.
Why it isn't number one: It scores higher than our number one, but only 0 published reviews of this exact model.
The Breville Quick Cook Dual Zone puts two induction zones on one frameless ceramic plate, with 16 power levels on each and a timer, so a pot of pasta and a pan of sauce can run side by side. Breville shares 2400W between the zones: either one can run from 300W to 1800W, and the cooker trims the other to stay within the total. The touch and dial controls sit on the side panel, out of the way of steam and spills, and it carries the safety kit a family kitchen wants, with cookware detection, auto-off, a child lock and an LED screen that shows error codes. It replaces the Philips 5000, which CHOICE rated lowest of the cooktops it tested here. The limits are a 1800W ceiling per zone, below the 2100W single plates, and a thin owner record of 10 Amazon AU ratings at 4.2 stars. It ships from Amazon AU with Breville's local warranty.
Performance
7.8
Precision
8.1
Ease of Use
8.5
Build
8.9
Owners
7.4
Owners is the 4.3★ Amazon AU rating from 11 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 7.8 (rubric 7): Each zone runs up to 1800 W from a shared 2400 W supply: the 1800 to 1999 W band; no boost mode and no published boil test.
Precision 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Sixteen power levels per zone: the 10 to 19 step band; the lowest setting is 300 W, so no low-simmer bonus.
Ease of Use 8.5 (rubric 8): Touch and dial controls on the side panel, a timer, a child lock and an LED error screen; no presets and the pan size range is not published.
Build 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Frameless ceramic glass with cookware detection, auto-off and a child lock from Breville with Australian warranty support; overheat protection not stated.
Pros
+ Two zones with 16 power levels each
+ Child lock, cookware detection and auto-off
+ Side-mounted touch and dial controls stay clear of steam and spills
+ Sold by Amazon AU with Breville warranty support
Cons
− 1800W maximum per zone, and 2400W shared when both run
− Pan size range not published
− Only 10 owner ratings so far and no independent test yet
Two Zones16 Power LevelsChild Lock2400W SharedSide Controls
A two-zone induction cooktop with an 1800W and a 1200W zone, separate touch controls, a child lock and a two-hour timer, for cooking two pans at once on a standard 10A plug.
The ANHANE double cooktop is for the kitchen that needs two pans going at once, a bench top in a rental, a granny flat or a caravan, where a single-zone plate means cooking the rice and then the curry. Its two zones run at 1800W and 1200W from a standard 10A plug, each with its own touch controls and display, nine power levels and a temperature range from 80°C to 270°C. A timer runs to 120 minutes, there is a child lock and overheat protection, and a zone switches itself off if no pan is detected within 30 seconds. It takes magnetic pans from about 15 to 28cm and can sit on the bench or be dropped into a cut-out. The catch is control: nine steps per zone is coarse next to the precision hobs here, and the lowest setting of 80°C is too warm for gentle holding or sous vide. It ships from Amazon AU stock but is sold by a third-party seller, KJDQ-US, rather than a local brand with its own warranty desk. Amazon AU buyers rate it 4.6 stars from 49 reviews. It replaces the Tefal Dual Express, which Amazon AU now offers only as a used return.
Performance
7.8
Precision
7.8
Ease of Use
7.8
Build
7.8
Owners
8.0
Owners is the 4.6★ Amazon AU rating from 49 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 7.8 (rubric 7): Rated 1800 W on its main zone and 1200 W on the second (3000 W together): the 1800 to 1999 W band; no boost mode and no published boil test.
Precision 7.8 (rubric 7): Nine power levels and nine temperature steps per zone: the 8 to 9 band; the lowest temperature is 80 C, so no low-setting bonus.
Ease of Use 7.8 (rubric 7): Separate touch controls per zone, a child lock, a 120 minute timer and a 15 to 28 cm pan range; no presets and the timer is short of four hours.
Build 7.8 (rubric 7): Microcrystalline ceramic glass with pan detection, overheat protection and an iron base shell; sold by a third-party seller, so warranty cover is unclear.
Pros
+ Two independently controlled zones (1800W and 1200W) on a standard 10A plug
+ Child lock, overheat protection and auto-off when no pan is detected
+ Takes pans from about 15 to 28cm, and works on the bench or built in
+ Ships from Amazon AU stock and rated 4.6 stars by owners
Cons
− Only nine power levels per zone, with no setting below 80°C
− The 1200W second zone is slow for boiling a big pot
− Sold by a third-party seller rather than a brand with local support
Two Zones1800W + 1200WChild Lock120-Min Timer80-270°C10A Plug
The Philips 5000 Series is the plain, brand-name option: a 2000W single-zone induction cooker sold and shipped by Amazon AU, so delivery is quick and returns go through Amazon. It keeps the controls simple, with five power levels and three cooking menus on a digital display, which covers boiling, frying and simmering without a page of settings to learn. The glossy glass plate wipes clean and overheating protection is built in. The trade-off is precision: five steps is the coarsest control in this list, and Philips does not publish a timer length, a child lock or a pan-size range on the Amazon listing. Amazon AU owners rate it 3.9 stars from 209 reviews, the lowest owner rating here, so it suits someone who wants a known brand and local delivery for basic cooking more than anyone chasing a gentle simmer.
Performance
8.5
Precision
6.3
Ease of Use
7.4
Build
8.1
Owners
5.9
Owners is the 3.8★ Amazon AU rating from 210 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.
How we scored it
Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.
Performance 8.5 (rubric 8): Rated 2000 W with no boost mode listed: the 2000 W band; no published test found.
Precision 6.3 (rubric 5): Five power levels: the 5-or-fewer band; no low wattage or temperature figure published.
Ease of Use 7.4 (rubric 6.5): Provisional: three cooking menus on a digital display, but the listing states no timer length, child lock or pan-size range.
Build 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Provisional: glass plate with overheating protection, sold by Amazon AU with Philips warranty cover; pan detection is not stated.
Pros
+ Sold and shipped by Amazon AU, with Philips brand backing
+ 2000W with three cooking menus on a digital display
+ Easy-clean glass plate and overheating protection
Cons
− Only five power levels, the coarsest control in this list
− No timer, child lock or pan range stated on the listing, and a 3.9-star owner rating
We evaluate portable induction cooktops on cooking performance (peak wattage, boost modes, how quickly buyers report water coming to the boil), ease of use (control layout, presets, timers, display clarity), build quality (plate material, cooling design, safety cut-outs), precision (the number of power and temperature steps and how low the unit can simmer), and overall value for money. We favour models that ship from Amazon Australia for fast delivery and easy returns, and we flag units that ship from overseas Amazon stores. All star ratings and review counts are drawn from live Amazon AU customer feedback.
Scored on Performance 35%, Precision 25%, Ease of use 20%, Build quality 20%, plus owner ratings and critic reviews
Induction works by inducing a current in the base of the pan, so the pan has to be ferrous. Cast iron, enamelled iron and steel and induction-ready stainless steel all work; plain aluminium, copper, glass and ceramic pots will not. The easy test is a fridge magnet: if it sticks firmly to the base, the pan will work. Check the base diameter too, as most units want a flat base between about 12cm and 24cm.
Wattage and the 10A socket
A standard Australian 10A power point tops out at roughly 2000 to 2400W, which is why nearly every single-zone portable induction cooker sits between 1500W and 2200W. That is plenty to boil a large pot quickly. Double-zone units that add up to 3000W or more often need a 15A plug, so check the listing before assuming it will run in a normal kitchen or caravan. If you plan to cook from a generator or inverter in a caravan, look for a unit with a reduced-wattage mode.
Power levels and temperature steps
Cheaper units offer five to ten power levels, which is fine for boiling and frying but coarse for a gentle simmer or melting chocolate. Models with 20, 50 or even 99 steps let you dial in a true low setting, and some can hold a constant 100W for sous-vide-style cooking. If you cook sauces, rice or custards, more steps matter.
Presets, boost and timers
Cooking presets such as boil, stir fry, soup or heat milk are handy shortcuts, and a boost mode drives the element at full power for a few minutes before dropping back to your set level. A timer that runs to three or four hours (or longer) is worth having for stews and stock, and an auto shut-off means you can walk away from a pot without worrying.
Size, weight and where it will live
Ultra-slim units around 20mm to 45mm thick and a couple of kilos in weight are easiest to pack into a caravan or store in a drawer. Larger plates give more room for a big frying pan but take more bench space. Anti-slip feet and a cooling fan with a clear exhaust path are worth looking for on any unit that will run for long stretches.
Where it ships from
Some popular induction hobs on Amazon AU are sold by Amazon UK or Amazon Germany and ship from overseas. They are genuine units at good prices, but delivery takes longer and returns are slower than a locally stocked pick. If you need the cooker for a specific date, choose a model that ships from Amazon Australia.
A portable induction cooktop is one of those appliances that quietly solves a lot of problems. It gives a rental kitchen with a tired old stove a fast, responsive extra burner, keeps the caravan or holiday house fed, and rescues Christmas lunch when every hob is already taken. Because induction heats the pan directly through a magnetic field rather than warming a coil or a flame, water boils quickly, the glass stays relatively cool around the pan and the whole unit slides into a cupboard when you're done.
There are two things every Australian buyer needs to know before choosing one. First, induction only works with magnetic (ferrous) cookware, so cast iron, enamelled steel and induction-ready stainless are in, while aluminium, copper and glass are out unless they have a magnetic base. Second, a standard 10A household socket caps a single unit at roughly 2000 to 2400W, which is why almost every portable cooker here tops out around the 2000W to 2100W mark, and why a 3000W double-zone unit often needs a 15A plug.
We've compared the best-reviewed portable induction cooktops on Amazon Australia, from a pair of well-priced budget units with sensible touch controls to a 99-level precision hob with app control, a 45-temperature Nuwave that will run from a caravan generator, and the most-reviewed portable induction hob on the site. Whether you want a simple boil-and-fry burner or something with sous-vide-friendly low power, there's a pick here to suit.
Compare Top Picks
Can't decide between our top two? See how they stack up head‑to‑head.
Will my existing pots and pans work on a portable induction cooktop?+
Only if they are magnetic. Induction heats the pan by inducing a current in a ferrous base, so cast iron, enamelled iron and steel and induction-ready stainless steel all work, while plain aluminium, copper, glass and ceramic cookware will not. Hold a fridge magnet to the base of the pan: if it grips firmly, you're fine. Also check the base is flat and within the diameter range the cooker specifies, usually somewhere between 12cm and 24cm.
Can I run a portable induction cooktop from a normal Australian power point?+
Yes, for a single-zone unit. A standard 10A socket supplies roughly 2000 to 2400W, and every single cooker in this guide sits at or below 2100W. Double-zone cooktops that add up to 3000W or more are a different story and often need a 15A plug, which most homes and caravans don't have in the kitchen. Avoid running the cooker on the same extension lead as other high-draw appliances.
Is induction faster than a gas or electric hob?+
For boiling water and heating a pan, generally yes. Because the energy goes straight into the pan rather than heating a coil or the air around a flame, less is wasted and a 2000W unit brings a pot to the boil quickly. Boost modes on some units push full power for a few minutes to speed that up further. Induction also responds almost instantly when you turn it down, which is why cooks who are used to gas tend to adapt to it easily.
Why does the number of power levels matter?+
It determines how gently the cooker can hold a low heat. A unit with five or eight levels is fine for boiling and frying but tends to pulse on and off at its lowest setting, which can catch delicate sauces or rice. Cookers with 20, 50 or 99 levels, or a dedicated 100W low-power mode, can hold a true simmer. If most of your cooking is quick and hot, fewer levels are no problem; if you make sauces, custards or sous-vide, pay for the extra steps.
Does it matter if the cooker ships from Amazon UK rather than Amazon Australia?+
Mostly for timing. Units sold by Amazon UK or Amazon Germany are genuine and often well priced, but they ship from overseas, so delivery takes noticeably longer and returns are slower than a locally stocked model. If you need the cooker for a specific date, or you'd rather have local returns, pick one of the models in this guide that ships from Amazon AU.